Skip navigation

Contents:

  • How do you play PC games?
  • Gaming confession: Downloadable games and content
  • Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

Intentionally up this week! These were drafted a long time ago and have now been condensed into the third entry in the Topical Multitude trilogy for your reading pleasure.

How do you play PC games?

How I played PC games.

I started this a long time ago. Grim Fandango on PC operated on the movement keys, and with Half-Life and onwards it just became a thing for me. Eventually I was changing the set up for every PC shooter I played.

Playing Portal for the first time and going on to play ArmA 2 and Fallout: New Vegas, I forced myself to use the standard WASD controls. Maybe I’ll get used to them one day.

What’s your keyboard layout for gaming?

Gaming confession: Downloadable games and content

I missed all of these.

Time to lose some credibility – I don’t buy game content online. I don’t get paid downloadable games or content. I only buy physical media.

I can’t be bothered with the hassle of the transaction and I don’t have the gigabytes to spare on my console hard drives. I certainly don’t want to deal with Steam, never mind XBL or PSN.

Which means I missed out on games like Braid and Flower. I will probably miss out on Journey and most importantly – won’t get to fill that final character slot or clash with the Shadow Broker in Mass Effect 2 .

What’s your take on the downloadable game front? Have you traded money for digital copies of gaming goodness? Had any good or bad experiences?

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

This should be required playing for every gamer.

I replayed Uncharted 2 again recently. It was even greater than I remembered. This is despite my being one of the few people that didn’t like the first Uncharted at all.

It still boggles my mind that there’s no loading times in the singleplayer. You go from snowy Tibetan mountains, to Turkish sewers, to the jungles of Borneo, to a war torn city in Nepal – all with possibly the best graphics on a console game and no loading screens.

(It actually uses pre-rendered cutscenes to mask the loading, but unlike Splinter Cell Conviction with its pointless zoom-outs, they’re really good! There’s no padding and the motion captured animation and the voice acting is just tangibly better than any other game.)

Then there’s the intro! And the bit with the helicopter! And the train! Oh my god, the truck chase! I would progressively italicise these harder if I could.

Sorry for all the gushing, but there’s no other game like it. People should understand why the freshly announced Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception is as exciting as Mass Effect 3.

Uncharted 2 still feels so far ahead of its time and I still can’t comprehend how Naughty Dog did it.

My theory: Voodoo.

One Comment

  1. I use the numberpad on the right if I bother with the keyboard. The arrowed numbers to move, and the various keys circling the numbers for various other functions, so I play everything one handed. Either that or I plug in the 360 controller.

    As for DLc, I think it’s great. It’s sometimes overpriced but usually not by too much. I bought the Xbox with the 120GB harddrive for just that reason.

    Never played uncharted. Maybe one day.


Leave a Reply

